The Yachts

Shining Sea

Category Placing
IRC 18
IRC - Div 3 3
Line Honours 34
* Click on the categories for full standings

Andrew Corletto returns to the Rolex Sydney Hobart after a two year absence with an updated Shining Sea, the former all-conquering Victoire, which he purchased late last year from Darryl Hodgkinson and began campaigning locally this July.

Corletto’s Sydney 38, also Shining Sea, was named the Cruising Yacht Club of South Australia’s Yacht of the Year after competing in every inshore and offshore series race in the 2012-2013 season, consistently placing in the top three. Won the following: CYCSA’s Offshore IRC and PHS Pointscore; PHS in CYCASA’s inshore series, in which she was second under IRC and PHS Division at Lincoln Race Week. Finished third in the South Australian Sydney 38 Championship. 

With her original owner, the yacht won Class B in the 2011 Audi IRC Australian Championship after a third place at Audi Victoria Week, second at the Audi Sydney Harbour Regatta, and divisional wins in the Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race and Hamilton Island Race Week. The boat also secured IRC Division 3 victory in the 2011 Rolex Sydney Hobart. 


Competitor Details

Name Shining Sea
Sail Number YC1545
Owner Andrew Corletto
Skipper Andrew Corletto (2)
Crew A Van Essen (1), S Bohm, P Hughes, R Davis (1), R Human (18), H Cooper (1), M Warman (6), B Young (13), T Lamond (1), N Wilhelm (3)
State SA
Type Beneteau First 45
Designer Philippe Briand
Builder Beneteau
Construction GRP
LOA 13.6
Beam 4.2
Draft 2.7