The Yachts


Category Placing
IRC 50
IRC - Div 2 9
ORCi 39
ORCi - Div 3 12
Line Honours 53
* Click on the categories for full standings

This is a first Hobart for Philosophers, a Cookson 12. According to co-owner Peter Sorensen, it is the best of the design around. After sitting virtually unused in Geelong for eight years, with the help of six-time 18 foot skiff champion Andrew Buckland, who is on the crew, the boat has been brought up to speed. It won the 2016 Gascoigne Cup, decided under PHS, and also won IRC overall. Gordon Ketelbey and Sorensen both have trodden the Sydney Hobart boards with separate boats. Ketelbey raced his Sydney 38 Zen and Sorensen raced years ago with two boats he had partnerships in, the V60 Magnavox and before that, Foxtel 2UE Titan Ford, a Farr 50 formerly named Morning Mist III.


Competitor Details

Name Philosophers
Sail Number MH20
Owner Gordon Ketelbey & Peter Sorensen
Skipper Gordon Ketelbey
Sailing Master Andrew Buckland
Navigator Damon Zemanek
Crew M Donnan, T Stephens, T MacGillivray, P Bremner, D Barton, D Elliot, A Dunphy (13)
State NSW
Type Cookson 12
Builder Cookson
Construction GRP
LOA 12.0
Beam 3.9
Draft 2.7