The Yachts

Helsal 3

Category Placing
PHS - Div 1 1
Line Honours 31
* Click on the categories for full standings

Finished PHS fourth overall to win Division 1 in the 2016 Hobart. One of only two Tassie entries in 2015, Rob Fisher took Helsal 3 to PHS second and won Division 1. Fisher was not aboard for the 2014 and 2013 Hobarts when she finished PHS 15th and 11th respectively The Adams 20 was originally Arthur Bloore’s The Office and retired from the 1984 Hobart, then dismasted heading to the 1985 start. Badly fire damaged in 1986, the Fisher family bought and restored her to place eighth on line in the ’87 and fifth in the ’88 Hobarts. Broke her own record in a Gosford Lord Howe Island race, and scored Sydney Mooloolaba line and handicap wins. John Wertheimer purchased her, finishing seventh on line in the 1990 Hobart. Chartered in ’91, she was seventh on line. Fisher repurchased her in 2007 after finding her in decline and she has missed only the 2011 Hobart since 2008.


Competitor Details

Name Helsal 3
Sail Number 262
Owner Helsal 3 Syndicate
Skipper David Stephenson (16)
Crew S Richardson, C Tate (2), J Wood (4), A Goode (8), P Grady, S Schroeder, K Ukena, M Flynn (2), A van der Rijt (3), N Edwards, N Van Nieuwenhuy (1), S Hart (2)
State NSW
Type Adams 20
Designer Joe Adams
Builder McConaghy
Construction GRP
LOA 20
Beam 4.6
Draft 3.4