The Yachts




This is Bruce Taylor’s sixth Chutzpah, a Reichel/Pugh design, built by Mal Hart. In her first Rolex Sydney Yacht Race, Chutzpah won Division C and placed 4th overall.  Last year Hobart, Chutzpah scored another IRC 2 divisional win.  Over 29 years of competing in the ocean classic, Taylor has notched up an amazing nine divisional wins as well as one 2nd and one 3rd overall.

Taylor’s crew boasts a combined total of 156 years of Sydney Hobart races including Kingsley Piesse (26 races) and James Permezel (20 races).  Chutzpah won the IRC/AMS handicap double in the ORCV’s 2008 Melbourne Stanley race; and IRC Division 2 in last year's Audi Sydney Gold Coast.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Chutzpah
Sail Number R33
Owner Bruce Taylor
Skipper Bruce Taylor(28)
Crew K Piesse (26), A Taylor (12), G Gourley (23), J Bradbury (10), J Permezel (20), P Sandles (6), M Bagley (3), P Fletcher (20), L Smith (8)
State VIC
Type Caprice 40
Designer Reichel Pugh
Builder Hart Marine
Construction Carbon/GRP
LOA 12.35
Draft 2.68