The Yachts





Winning the 2002 Rolex Sydney Hobart with a former Quest, Bob Steel won the 2008 Rolex Sydney Hobart with this TP52, also named Quest and returns to the race following a two year break from serious ocean racing. Since arriving in Australia, Steel's third boat of the same name has won every major race on the eastern seaboard, including Audi Hamilton Island Race Week, Audi Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race, Geelong Race Week. 

Steel won the 2003 Ocean Racer of the Year against a hefty field including Neville Crichton, Bob Oatley and Colin O'Neil. The three could not match the 'Man of Steel's' 2002 Hobart win and 2002-2003 Blue Water Pointscore victory among other accolades.

In anticipation of a third overall Hobart win, Steel has put his TP52 through a minor refit and invested in some new sails for this year's race. He has recruited his old friend, sailing master and 33 Hobart veteran Mike Green back to the cause and Andrew Pearson, both of whom were with him for his two Hobart victories. Joining them is Tom Braidwood, an ex-Volvo Ocean Racer and one of the best hands around. Made an impressionable return to major ocean racing with a second place overall in the Cabbage Tree Island Race in November.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Quest
Sail Number 52002
Owner Bob Steel
Skipper Bob Steel (19)
Navigator Bruce Kelly (4)
Crew A Pearson (15), M Green (33), T Braidwood (17), C Evans, M Basset (6), S Francis (3), N Newton (11), S Moran, A McBean (2), B Gardiner (2)
State NSW
Type TP 52
Designer Bruce Farr (NZ)
Builder Goetz
Construction Composite
LOA 15.85
Beam 4.34
Draft 3.18