The Yachts

Ragamuffin Loyal

Ragamuffin Loyal


Took line honours as Investec Loyal in last year's Rolex Sydney Hobart, beating Wild Oats XI to the punch by 3 minutes 8 seconds after conceding defeat to her nemesis by just over three and a half hours the previous year. Syd Fischer has leased the yacht and rebadged her Ragamuffin-Loyal. Finding the yacht in great condition, he will only modify the tiny galley so he can keep the troops fed to keep their energy up.

Fischer, who at 85 rates as the oldest competitor in this year's race, twice took line honours in the Hobart with his German Frers maxi in 1988 and 1990, and then won it overall in 1992 with the former Will, a Farr 50. Tony Ellis, his old mate, was aboard for each of the wins. In fact, while Fischer is coming up for his 44th and Ellis is 46th (one away from the record), the two will create history by sailing their 40th race together. It would have been more, but Fisher took some years off to run his America's Cup syndicates. Others joining the crew for Hobart include David Witt (he was aboard 1999 line honours winner Nokia), five-time VOR sailor Matt Humphreys and four celebrity sailors.

The Sydney yachtsman has also won the CYCA's Blue Water Pointscore Series a record nine times, last winning in 2007/2008 and following that, was second, third and second in the following seasons, culminating in his winning Ocean Racer of the Year on multiple occasions. He is third in the 2012 BWPS with three races sailed. Arguably Australia's greatest yachtsman ever, Fischer has self-funded a record five America's Cup campaigns (a feat only matched by Sir Thomas Lipton), captained Australia to wins at the Admiral's and Clipper/Kenwood Cups and won the One Ton Cup in 1971.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Ragamuffin Loyal
Sail Number SYD100
Owner Syd Fischer
Skipper Syd Fischer (43)
Crew Tony Ellis (45)
State NSW
Type Elliott 100
Designer Greg Elliott
Builder Cookson Yachts
Construction Composite
LOA 30.48
Beam 5.7
Draft 6.2