The Yachts

Dare Devil

Dare Devil
Category Placing
IRC 111
IRC - Div 3 13
ORCi 88
ORCi - Div 2 17
Corinthian - IRC 36
Line Honours 98
* Click on the categories for full standings


Sibby Ilzhofer skippered Dare Devil to 57th overall in the 2018 Rolex Sydney Hobart, exactly the same result as in 2017. These results followed two years of disappointing retirements because of rudder damage both times. In the 2014 race, Ilzhofer’s first with this yacht, she won the Jane Tate Memorial Trophy as the top placed female skipper after finishing 52nd overall. In June last year, she raced her Farr/Cookson 47 to 10th overall and 5th in Division 1 in the Ponant Sydney Noumea Race and placed eighth in the ensuing Groupama Race. Launched as Sea Hawk for the 2000/2001 Kenwood Cup, the boat won the Cup with her two Kiwi team mates. WA yachtie, Tony Mitchell bought and re-christened her Sled before Ilzhofer bought and renamed her.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Dare Devil
Sail Number RF5095
Owner Sibby Ilzhofer
Skipper Sibby Ilzhofer (6)
Crew R Ellis, P Gothard (1), D Ball (1), R Whitelum, J Hodgkinson, P Grayson (2), O Myles-Malone, K Olsen (1), S Muromatsu (2), E Smith, K Dowdney, G Scarlett (5)
State NSW
Type Farr/Cookson 47
Designer Farr Yacht Design
Builder Cookson
Construction Carbon
LOA 14.3
Beam 3.9
Draft 2.8