The Yachts

Willie Smith's Philosopher

Willie Smith's Philosopher
Category Placing
IRC 15
IRC - Div 6 1
ORCi 12
ORCi - Div 5 1
Corinthian - IRC 1
Line Honours 81
* Click on the categories for full standings


This Sydney 36CR was previously known as The Philosopher's Club when sailed by Peter ‘Sorro’ Sorensen. Renamed Philosopher by Shaun Tiedemann, she has sailed out of Hobart since 2016. The boat won its division in the Australian Yachting Championship in 2008 and 2011 with Sorensen; and with her current Hobart crew in 2018 and 2019. Since settling in Hobart, the crew of Philosopher has scored many inshore series wins and in the 2018-2019 season, had a more focused crack at racing offshore, winning IRC overall in the Maria Island, Launceston to Hobart and Bruny Island races, along with the Combined Clubs IRC championship. Here is a boat that could be in the money. Tiedemann, General Manager of the Derwent Sailing Squadron, says his usual youthful crew, including his son Sam and young brothers Elliott and Lewis Noye, will be blended with a couple of experienced sailors who have plenty of ocean racing experience.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Willie Smith's Philosopher
Sail Number 20
Owner Shaun Tiedemann
Skipper Shaun Tiedemann (1)
Crew E Noye (1), A Davison (8), L Noye (2), A Smith (14), N Brown (1), C Jones (2), S Tiedemann (1), A Bailey
State TAS
Club DSS
Type Sydney 36CR Mod
Builder Sydney Yachts
Construction Fibreglass
LOA 11.30
Beam 3.40
Draft 2.35