The Yachts




The 2019 race was disappointing for Michael Pritchard and Oskana. They placed 103rd after breaking gear and finding a wind hole. She placed a much better 23rd in the 2017 Rolex Sydney Hobart. The Tasmanian missed the race in 2018, instead taking line honours in the Melbourne to Hobart race. Mike Pritchard has his 18-year-old son Oliver sailing his first Rolex Sydney Hobart, though this year marks his fourth delivery to Sydney. Crew member, Richard Goodfellow, was aboard Tasmania when she took line honours in the 1994 race when a record 371 boats took part. He is joined by 18-year-old son Charlie, sailing his first Rolex Sydney Hobart. Brothers Geoff and Robbie Tuck are also aboard. Pritchard says he is hoping the two first timers will bring them some luck. This Cookson 50, touted as Tasmania’s fastest offshore yacht, was the 2013 Rolex Sydney Hobart winner under the name Victoire, when owned by Darryl Hodgkinson.

Before she won the Hobart, the boat was known variously as Jazz, Evolution Racing, Quantum Racing and launched as Aero, carrying with each name an exemplary offshore racing record. Brian McMaster chartered the then-Victoire for the 2016 Rolex Sydney Hobart, finishing 10th, after the owner, Darryl Hodgkinson, retired from the 2015 race, when he suffered injuries in a fall in stiff seas. In 2014, ‘Dr Darryl’ placed 45th for second in Division O. Before that, Ray Roberts owned the yacht he named Evolution Racing, taking the line/overall double in the 2007 Sydney Gold Coast race and placed 17th for second in Division O in the 2009 Rolex Sydney Hobart. Chris Bull bought and renamed her Jazz to finish second in the 2010 Rolex Sydney Hobart, then fourth for the Division 0 win in 2011 and fourth for divisional third in in 2012. Oskana and her crew still have the goods to win the race.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Oskana
Sail Number AUS5299
Owner Michael Pritchard/Paul McCartney
Skipper Michael Pritchard (3)
Navigator Jason Wilkie (3)
Crew Patrick Copeland (4), Geoff Tuck (1), Robbie Tuck (1), Michael Hutchinson (5), Charlie Goodfellow, Silas Hamilton, Richard Goodfellow, Oliver Pritchard, Jack McCullum (5), Paul McCartney, Edward Snowball (1)
State TAS
Club Derwent Sailing Squadron
Type Cookson 50
Designer Bruce Farr (NZ)
Builder Cookson Yachts
Construction GRP
LOA 15.2
Beam 4.3
Draft 3.5