The Yachts


Category Placing
Fully Crewed IRC 33
Fully Crewed IRC - Div 3 6
Fully Crewed ORCi 28
Fully Crewed ORCi - Div 1 8
Corinthian - IRC 13
Line Honours 37
* Click on the categories for full standings


This boat, best known as Le Billet when owned by Pittwater’s Bill Ebsary and then by Mark Tinworth and Mark Waterhouse.  All three campaigned her extensively in major events out of NSW, including Sydney Gold Coast races.  She was renamed Bowline by Ian Roberts of South Australia, who purchased her in March and entered her in the yacht’s first Sydney Hobart.  Bowline races under the burgee of the Royal South Australian Yacht Squadron and it is Roberts’ intention to campaign the Beneteau 44.7 offshore extensively throughout South Australia to assist the promotion of offshore sailing both locally and nationally.  It is also his intention to regularly campaign the yacht with a component of the crew being women and beginners, in support of the sport of yacht racing.  In November, Roberts won the 200nm Haystack Island Race, a good precursor for the Hobart.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Bowline
Sail Number 10447
Owner Ian Roberts
Navigator Peter Hutchison
Crew Jodie-Anne Roberts, Seosamh Mac Mathuna, Nick Smith, Jenny Geytenbeek, Andrew Geytenbeek, Bruce Roach, Reid Bosward, Anthony Pennington
State SA
Club Royal South Australian Yacht Squadron
Type Beneteau First 44.7
Designer Bruce Farr
Builder Beneteau Yachts
Construction GRP
LOA 13.4
Beam 4.0
Draft 2.6