The Yachts




InfoTrack has been renamed LawConnect.  She wowed with her brilliant second over the line in 2019; 44minutes 18 seconds astern of Comanche after a five way super maxi battle to Hobart - and placed third overall in Division 0.  Christian Beck’s boat returns a hot prospect for line honours.  She finished a close fourth over the line in 2018 after a protracted battle with Wild Oats XI, Black Jack and Comanche, in conditions not suited to her weight.  In 2020, she took the line/overall double in the Cabbage Tree Island Race in light breeze, 18 minutes faster than Black Jack over the line.  Since then, Beck has added a larger bowsprit to the boat to enhance her performance.  Since then, they took Cabbage Tree line honours by nearly an hour to SHK Scallywag, but fortunes were reversed in the SOLAS Big Boat Challenge.  However, she won the inaugural Income Asset Management Australian Maxi Champs, of which the SBBC was the final race.

Software guru Beck bought the former Speedboat/Rambler/Perpetual Loyal from Anthony Bell in 2017, renamed her InfoTrack, and finished fourth on line in the 2017 Rolex Sydney Hobart, inside the Sydney Hobart record set by this boat when owned by Bell.  However, a mandatory declaration was not lodged, so a 20 percent penalty dropped InfoTrack down the board to 24th.  Despite a few bumps along the way, this boat continues to defy her critics.  When owned by Bell, it retired from the 2014 and 2015 Hobarts (damaged after hitting an object and rudder damage respectively), after finishing second on line in 2013.  But Bell more than made up by taking line honours and the race record in 2016.  Beck continues the tradition of taking a few employees along for their first taste of the race – an unbelievable opportunity for them to do the race – and with pros such as Tony Mutter and Chris Nicholson


Competitor Details

Yacht Name LawConnect
Sail Number SYD1000
Owner Christian Beck
Skipper Christian Beck (3)
Sailing Master Tony Mutter (5) / Chris Nicholson (7)
Navigator Brad Kellett (28)
Crew Charlie Wyatt, Mitch White (17), Matt Pearce (21), Ty Oxley (15), James Corrie (8), Lucas Chapman (7), Ryan Phillips (1), Mustafa Ingham (2), Alan Turner, Alexander Gough (2), Rachel Williams, Troy Tindill (11), Russell Ely (1), Sebastian Figg, Selma Raso, Gavin Smith, Simon Jack
State NSW
Type Juan-K 100
Designer Juan Kouyoumdjian (Arg)
Builder Boatspeed/Cookson
Construction Carbon
LOA 30.48
Beam 7.4
Draft 6.2