The Yachts




When Bob Steel couldn’t race in 2019, then co-owner (and now sole owner) Craig Neil and skipper, Mike ‘Greenie’ Green, were left to bring home the bacon - and they almost did. Quest led at Tasman Island but fell into a big hole on the Tassie coast and ended up third overall for third in Division 1, leading to third in the CYCA’s BWPS. Quest next placed fourth in the 2020 Australian Yachting Championships. Steel originally owned Quest and won the 2008 Hobart with her. He handed her to Paul Clitheroe for a spell and the ‘Money Man’ won the 2015 Hobart to also take out the BWPS. Neil took line honours in February’s Lion Island Race to finish fourth overall and was eighth in November’s Flinders Islet race. This is a very tough offshore boat with solid crew.

Steel also placed second to Ichi Ban in the 2017 Sydney Hobart – 20 minutes separated them overall. Steel also won the race with his previous Quest in 2002. While in the hands of Clitheroe, he skippered Quest to fourth overall to win Division 1 in the 2016 Hobart. Clitheroe also set a new race record in the 2016 Sydney to Newcastle race and scored a clean sweep of IRC/ORCi/PHS wins. This boat has enjoyed remarkable results, and if the weather gets rough, this is the boat to watch. Their main rivals will be Ichi Ban and Gweilo, both of which beat her in the short distance Flinders Islet and Bird Island races in November.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Quest
Sail Number 52002
Owner Craig Neil
Skipper Mike Green (41)
Sailing Master Clinton Evans (7)
Navigator James Walker (1)
Crew Craig Neil (3), Max de Montgolfier (8), Will Sargent, Erik Alston (1), Tom Brewer, Ryan Brook (1), Ben De Coster (17), Nick Mrdjen (4), Matthew Bassett (8), Don McPhee (1), Shaun Moran
State NSW
Type TP 52
Designer Bruce Farr (NZ)
Builder Goetz
Construction Composite
LOA 15.9
Beam 4.34
Draft 3.18