The Yachts

Wild Oats

Wild Oats


Brett Eagle purchased Wild Rose in 2020 and reverted to her original name Wild Oats. The late Roger Hickman, crewed by male and female amateurs, won the 2014 Rolex Sydney Hobart with her as Wild Rose and scored wins in the Australian and NSW IRC Championships, among many great victories with this famous yacht, including taking Division 4 of the Rolex Sydney Hobart in 2011, 2012, 2013.

‘Hicko’, with Bruce Foye and Lance Peckman, also won the 1993 race (IOR) with the boat, alongside IMS winner, Cuckoos Nest. Her last Rolex Sydney Hobart was 2015, when Hickman skippered her to sixth overall and third in Division 4. New owner, Eagle, raced on Ted Tooher’s Chancellor for three years as second in charge and navigator prior to buying this boat. He has given Wild Oats a new paint job, with the rose remaining between the two words of her name. Eagle and crew are in still in the early days of learning this beautifully set up boat.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name Wild Oats
Sail Number 4343
Owner Brett Eagle, Marc Skjellerup & Gordon Smith
Skipper Brett Eagle (5)
Sailing Master Gordon Smith (6)
Navigator Marike Koppenol (3)
Crew Reece Theedam (3), Peter Carpenter (1), Muir Watson (2), Clifford Fairbrass (1), Drew Bagnall (1), Marc Skjellerup, Evan Watson, Sharon Bartle (2), Saul Davidson
State NSW
Type Farr 43
Designer Bruce Farr & Associates (USA)
Builder McConaghy Boats
LOA 13.1
Beam 4.2
Draft 2.5