The Yachts

URM Group

URM Group


Anthony Johnston’s URM suffered main damage and retired last year. The Reichel/Pugh 72 took Line Honours, race record and won the 2022 Flinders Islet Race. Shefinished second over the line and second overall to Andoo Comanche in the 260nm Tollgate Islands Race and second on line to Black Jack for third overall in the slow Bird Island Race. Johnston bought the boat which arrived in Australia in late 2019 and finished ninth on line in the Rolex Sydney Hobart that year. She is skippered by Marcus Ashley-Jones.

The top heavy crew again includes Olympic medallist Jason Waterhouse along with previous Sydney Hobart line and overall winners and Johnston’s good luck charms - his brothers. URM Group was originally Neville Critchton’s Shockwave and only raced overseas, winning her division in the 2010 Rolex Giraglia race. Her next owner won her division in the 2015 Giraglia Cup among the yacht’s other solid results.


Competitor Details

Yacht Name URM Group
Sail Number AUS72
Owner Anthony Johnston
Skipper Marcus Ashley-Jones (17)
Crew Anthony Johnston (3), David Johnston (2), Paddy Bannon (6), James Corrie (9), Bryce Edwards (1), Phil Harmer (13), Peter Harris (5), Steve Jarvin (32), Andrew Johnston, Nick Johnston (2), Philip Marshall (5), Aron Ormandlaki (5), Dick Parker (2), Ben Piggott (6), Alice Tarnawski (2), Matiu Te Hau (5), Joel Turner, Jason Waterhouse (1)
State NSW
Type Reichel Pugh Maxi 72
Designer Reichel/Pugh (USA)
LOA 21.8
Beam 5.4
Draft 5.0